/   Home   /   Newsroom   /   Multimedia News

China Honours Top Scientists

Jan 18, 2013     Email"> PrintText Size



[video:China honours top scientists]



Two Chinese scientists have been handed China’s top science award, for their remarkable contributions to scientific and technological innovation.

Explosion mechanics expert Zheng Zhemin and radar engineering expert Wang Xiaomo, were conferred the State Top Scientific and Technological Award and each awarded five million yuan, or over 800-thousand US dollars. The ceremony took place at the Great Hall of the People. It was attended by state leaders, including President Hu Jintao, Vice President Xi Jinping, Premier Wen Jiabao, as well as other senior officials.

88-year-old scientist Zheng Zhemin is a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Chinese Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Engineering. He did outstanding work on processing key components of rockets. Wang Xiaomo, born in 1938, is a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. He was the founder of China’s Airborne Early Warning And Control System, which can detect aircraft, ships and vehicles at long ranges. China has been awarding elite scientists and researchers annually since 2000.


(Editor: CHEN Na)



Related Articles

Top Scientific and Technological Award;ZHANG Cunhao;CHENG Kaijia;top science award

Two CAS Academicians Win Nation's Top Science Award

Jan 13, 2014

China is honoring its scientists for outstanding achievements in 2013. More than 313 scientists have been awarded for their contributions to the country's scientific research and development.

SHI Changxu;superalloy;die;metal science;State Top Scientific and Technological Awards

China's Superalloys Pioneer SHI Changxu Died at 96

Nov 10, 2014

SHI Changxu, one of the pioneers in the development of superalloys in China, passed away on November, 10 in Beijing. He is a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Chinese Academy of Engineering. Professor SHI had won about 10 state-level academic prizes, includin...

Contact Us

Copyright © 2002 - Chinese Academy of Sciences